Upcoming Performances & Events

Click on the links below to filter performances and events by category.
Prices subject to change.

Subscribe NOW | Next Season | Operas & Concerts | Special Events | Movies | Talks & Tours | Community Events | All Events



HD at the Opera House

Our opera productions may not begin until Verdi’s Rigoletto opens in the fall, but during the summer, we’ll bring you plenty of opera and ballet on the big screen.

The 2019 HD AT THE OPERA HOUSE Season begins in May, and features operas like La Forza del destino, Faust, The Merry Widow and La traviata; ballets like Mayerling and Romeo & Juliet, and much more.

Tickets are just $20.

Sundays at 1:30 pm, beginning May 19, 2019


Sun 8/25/19 1:30PM Sarasota Opera House Die Walkure - Opera Film
Sun 9/8/19 1:30PM Sarasota Opera House The Nutcracker-Ballet Film
Sun 9/22/19 1:30PM Sarasota Opera House La traviata - Opera Film
Sun 10/6/19 1:30PM Sarasota Opera House La Bayadere-Ballet Film


Classic Movies at Opera House
Fri 8/23/19 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House Key Largo
Fri 9/6/19 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House Young Frankenstein


A Taste of Downtown

Now in its sixth year, this established Sarasota tradition will bring you to Sarasota Opera House, where your favorite downtown restaurants will be showcasing their tasty dishes paired with fine wines and assorted beers. Proceeds from this event benefit the Sarasota Youth Opera, who will perform during the event. Come mix & mingle, sample tasty bites, and have a drink with us to celebrate the end of summer in Sarasota!

Tickets: $75 per person


Sat 9/21/19 1:00PM Sarasota Opera House A Taste of Downtown


Understanding Opera

Understand opera like never before with Executive Director Richard Russell and Director of Artistic Administration Greg Trupiano as they present these 4 fun-fact filled talks in the fall. Four Thursdays at 5:pm.

Tickets: $25 per person, $75 for all talks


Thu 10/17/19 5:00PM Kamlet Library Things Change
Thu 10/24/19 5:00PM Kamlet Library Ensembles in Opera
Thu 10/31/19 5:00PM Kamlet Library Walt Whitman at the Opera
Thu 11/7/19 5:00PM Kamlet Library At the Opera, Richard and Greg


Curtain Raiser

Michael's on The Bay

Traditionally the start of Sarasota Opera’s social season, this event is where long-time patrons reunite, and new friends are made among fellow opera lovers. The evening will begin with cocktails and hors d'oeuvres in the courtyard, followed by a three-course dinner and an exciting performance by artists from Rigoletto.

Tickets: $195 per person


Sun 10/20/19 6:00PM Local Venue Curtain Raiser


Rigoletto

Love Is Dangerous

A protective father. A lecherous Duke. A naive girl discovers that love isn’t always true. One of Verdi’s greatest works returns to Sarasota Opera.

Melodrama in three acts
Music by Giuseppe Verdi
Libretto by Francesco Maria Piave
Performed in Italian with English translations above the stage
Running time: Approximately 3 hours including two intermissions


CONDUCTOR Victor DeRenzi
STAGE DIRECTOR Stephanie Sundine
SCENIC DESIGNER David P. Gordon
COSTUME DESIGNER Howard Tsvi Kaplan
LIGHTING DESIGNER Ken Yunker
CHORUS MASTER Lindsay Woodward

CAST
RIGOLETTO Marco Nisticò
DUKE OF MANTUA William Davenport
GILDA Hanna Brammer
SPARAFUCILE Young Bok Kim
MADDALENA Annie Chester


Come early and enjoy a pre-show introduction hosted by a member of the Sarasota Opera music staff 45 minutes before this opera. FREE with your opera ticket. Felding Hall (in the back of the Donna Wolf Steigerwaldt Courtyard).

We are pleased to be performing with the outstanding musicians of the Sarasota Orchestra during our 2019 Fall Season. For more information about the Sarasota Orchestra, visit sarasotaorchestra.org.

Fri 11/1/19 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House Rigoletto
Sun 11/3/19 1:30PM Sarasota Opera House Rigoletto
Wed 11/6/19 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House Rigoletto
Tue 11/12/19 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House Rigoletto
Thu 11/14/19 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House Rigoletto
Sun 11/17/19 1:30PM Sarasota Opera House Rigoletto


Opera House Tours

Join us on Mondays during opera season for a tour of the historic Sarasota Opera House, complete with backstage tour. You'll hear some great stories, and discover why the Sarasota Opera house is at the very center of Sarasota's cultural life.


Mon 11/4/19 10:30AM Sarasota Opera House Opera House Tour
Mon 11/11/19 10:30AM Sarasota Opera House Opera House Tour
Mon 2/17/20 10:30AM Sarasota Opera House Opera House Tour
Mon 2/24/20 10:30AM Sarasota Opera House Opera House Tour
Mon 3/2/20 10:30AM Sarasota Opera House Opera House Tour
Mon 3/9/20 10:30AM Sarasota Opera House Opera House Tour
Mon 3/16/20 10:30AM Sarasota Opera House Opera House Tour


Concert at Noon

Enjoy these hour-long concerts featuring Sarasota Opera’s Apprentice and Studio artists singing arias and ensembles.

Tickets: $5


Fri 11/8/19 12:00PM Peterson Great Room Apprentice Concert
Fri 3/6/20 12:00PM Peterson Great Room Apprentice Concert
Fri 3/13/20 12:00PM Peterson Great Room Studio Understudies
Fri 3/20/20 12:00PM Peterson Great Room Apprentice Concert


Brundibar

Love Conquers Evil

Performed at least 55 times by the children of Theresienstadt concentration camp during WWII, this tale of friendship, perseverance, and teamwork will touch your heart.

Sarasota Youth Opera
Music by Hans Krása
Libretto by Adolf Hoffmeister
Performed in English with English translations above the stage
Running time: Approximately 1 hour


CONDUCTOR Jesse Martins
STAGE DIRECTOR Martha Collins
COSTUME DESIGNER Howard Tsvi Kaplan
LIGHTING DESIGNER Ken Yunker


Fri 11/15/19 7:00PM Sarasota Opera House Brundibar
Sat 11/16/19 7:00PM Sarasota Opera House Brundibar


The Opera Gala

The annual Opera Gala celebrates the beginning of Sarasota Opera’s Winter Festival. The elegant affair will include a cocktail hour, silent auction, four course dinner, a special performance by our Principal Artists, and live music for dancing. Let’s raise a glass of champagne together at the premier social event in Sarasota!

Tickets: $350 per person


Sat 2/1/20 6:30PM Local Venue The Opera Gala


La boheme

Love Is Fragile

Almost two centuries ago in Paris’ Latin Quarter, a love affair flourishes, withers and dies in Puccini’s romantic portrayal of bohemian life.

Opera in four scenes
Music by Giacomo Puccini
Libretto by Luigi Illica and Giuseppe Giacosa
Performed in Italian with English translations above the stage

Running time: Approximately 3 hours including two intermissions


CONDUCTOR Victor DeRenzi
STAGE DIRECTOR Mark Freiman
SCENIC DESIGNER David P. Gordon
COSTUME COORDINATOR Howard Tsvi Kaplan
LIGHTING DESIGNER Ken Yunker
CHORUS MASTER Jesse Martins

CAST
MIMÌ Anna Mandina
RODOLFO William Davenport
MARCELLO Filippo Fontana
COLLINE Young Bok Kim
MUSETTA Jessica Sandidge*


* Sarasota Opera debut

Sat 2/8/20 7:00PM Sarasota Opera House La boheme
Tue 2/11/20 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House La boheme
Thu 2/13/20 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House La boheme
Sun 2/16/20 1:30PM Sarasota Opera House La boheme
Wed 2/19/20 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House La boheme
Tue 2/25/20 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House La boheme
Sat 2/29/20 1:30PM Sarasota Opera House La boheme
Tue 3/3/20 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House La boheme
Fri 3/6/20 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House La boheme
Wed 3/11/20 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House La boheme
Sat 3/14/20 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House La boheme
Thu 3/19/20 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House La boheme
Sat 3/21/20 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House La boheme


Romeo and Juliet

Love Is Forever

In this story – immortalized by the genius of William Shakespeare and overflowing with the melodies of Charles Gounod – young lovers purse their great passion to the grave.

Opera in five acts
Music by Charles Gounod
Libretto by Jules Barbier and Michel Carré
Performed in French with English translations above the stage

Running time: Approximately 2 hours and 30 minutes including two intermissions


CONDUCTOR Anthony Barrese
STAGE DIRECTOR Martha Collins
SCENIC DESIGNER Peter Dean Beck
COSTUME COORDINATOR Howard Tsvi Kaplan
LIGHTING DESIGNER Ken Yunker
HAIR & MAKE-UP DESIGNER TBA
CHORUS MASTER Jesse Martins

CAST
JULIET Hanna Brammer
ROMÉO Andrew Surrena
MERCUTIO Matthew Hanscom
FRÈRE LAUREN Ricardo Lugo


Sat 2/15/20 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House Romeo and Juliet
Tue 2/18/20 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House Romeo and Juliet
Thu 2/20/20 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House Romeo and Juliet
Sun 2/23/20 1:30PM Sarasota Opera House Romeo and Juliet
Fri 2/28/20 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House Romeo and Juliet
Wed 3/4/20 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House Romeo and Juliet
Sun 3/8/20 1:30PM Sarasota Opera House Romeo and Juliet
Sat 3/14/20 1:30PM Sarasota Opera House Romeo and Juliet
Fri 3/20/20 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House Romeo and Juliet


The Elixir of Love

Love Is Intoxicating

Nemorino’s love is unwavering, but Adina won’t give him a second glance. All is saved by Dulcamara’s love potion—or is it?

Melodramma in two acts
Music by Gaetano Donizetti
Libretto by Felice Romani
Performed in Italian with English translations above the stage

Running time: Approximately 2 hours and 19 minutes including one intermission


CONDUCTOR John F. Spencer IV
STAGE DIRECTOR Marco Nisticò
SCENIC DESIGNER Roger Hanna
COSTUME DESIGNER Howard Tsvi Kaplan
LIGHTING DESIGNER Ken Yunker
CHORUS MASTER Jesse Martins

CAST
ADINA Adelaide Boedecker
NEMORINO Geoffrey Agpalo*
BELCORE John Viscardi*
DOCTOR DULCAMARA Stefano de Peppo


* Sarasota Opera debut

Come early and enjoy a pre-show introduction hosted by a member of the Sarasota Opera music staff 45 minutes before this opera. FREE with your opera ticket. Felding Hall (in the back of the Donna Wolf Steigerwaldt Courtyard).

Sat 2/22/20 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House The Elixir of Love
Wed 2/26/20 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House The Elixir of Love
Sun 3/1/20 1:30PM Sarasota Opera House The Elixir of Love
Thu 3/5/20 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House The Elixir of Love
Fri 3/13/20 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House The Elixir of Love
Tue 3/17/20 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House The Elixir of Love
Sat 3/21/20 1:30PM Sarasota Opera House The Elixir of Love


La Wally

NEW PRODUCTION

Love Hurts

In a village in the Tirolean alps, Wally chooses love over family. However, with a cruel bet, the man of her dreams breaks her heart, igniting a chain of events that leads to tragedy.

Opera in four acts
Music by Alfredo Catalani
Libretto by Luigi Illica
Performed in Italian with English translations above the stage
Running time: Approximately 2 hours and 19 minutes including one intermission


CONDUCTOR Victor DeRenzi
STAGE DIRECTOR Stephanie Sundine
SCENIC DESIGNER Steven C. Kemp
COSTUME DESIGNER Howard Tsvi Kaplan
LIGHTING DESIGNER Ken Yunker
CHORUS MASTER Jesse Martins

CAST
WALLY Teresa Romano*
HAGENBACH Rafael Davila
GELLNER Sean Anderson
WALTER Jessica Sandidge
AFRA Lisa Chavez
IL PEDONE Ricardo Lugo
STROMMINGER Young Bok Kim


* Sarasota Opera debut

Come early and enjoy a pre-show introduction hosted by a member of the Sarasota Opera music staff 45 minutes before this opera. FREE with your opera ticket. Felding Hall (in the back of the Donna Wolf Steigerwaldt Courtyard).

Sat 3/7/20 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House La Wally
Tue 3/10/20 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House La Wally
Thu 3/12/20 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House La Wally
Sun 3/15/20 1:30PM Sarasota Opera House La Wally
Wed 3/18/20 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House La Wally
Sun 3/22/20 1:30PM Sarasota Opera House La Wally


Artists Choice Concert

This Sarasota Opera tradition is back! Hear Principal and Studio artists perform their choice of the best-loved opera arias and songs with piano accompaniment.


Sun 3/15/20 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House Artists Choice Concert


Salute to the Stars

Sarasota Yacht Club

Celebrating the outstanding Sarasota Opera artists who will be honored in 2020, join us for lunch overlooking Sarasota Bay. You will experience a live performance by the award winners, and learn more about our studio and apprentice artist programs.

Tickets: $75 Individual or $125 per Patron Sponsor (includes donation to support the apprentice artist program, premium seating, and recognition in the program)


Thu 3/19/20 11:30AM Local Venue Salute to the Stars

by