Upcoming Performances & Events

Click on the links below to filter performances and events by category.
Prices subject to change.

Subscribe NOW | Next Season | Operas & Concerts | Special Events | Movies | Talks & Tours | Community Events | All Events



Yoga Warrior Poses
Presented by Operation Warrior Resolution, Yoga Warrior Poses for Warriors
For more information and to purchase tickets please visit: Yoga Warrior Poses for Warriors
Thu 5/23/19 6:30PM Sarasota Opera House Yoga Warrior Poses


Classic Movies at Opera House
Fri 5/31/19 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House Doctor Zhivago


HD at the Opera House

Our opera productions may not begin until Verdi’s Rigoletto opens in the fall, but during the summer, we’ll bring you plenty of opera and ballet on the big screen.

The 2019 HD AT THE OPERA HOUSE Season begins in May, and features operas like La Forza del destino, Faust, The Merry Widow and La traviata; ballets like Mayerling and Romeo & Juliet, and much more.

Tickets are just $20.

Sundays at 1:30 pm, beginning May 19, 2019


Sun 6/2/19 1:30PM Sarasota Opera House Mayerling - Ballet Film
Sun 6/16/19 1:30PM Sarasota Opera House Faust - Opera Film
Sun 6/30/19 1:30PM Sarasota Opera House Three Ballets - Ballet Film
Sun 7/14/19 1:30PM Sarasota Opera House Merry Widow-Operetta Film
Sun 7/28/19 1:30PM Sarasota Opera House Romeo & Juliet-Ballet Film
Sun 8/11/19 1:30PM Sarasota Opera House La Gioconda - Opera Film
Sun 8/25/19 1:30PM Sarasota Opera House Die Walkure - Opera Film
Sun 9/8/19 1:30PM Sarasota Opera House The Nutcracker-Ballet Film
Sun 9/22/19 1:30PM Sarasota Opera House La traviata - Opera Film
Sun 10/6/19 1:30PM Sarasota Opera House La Bayadere-Ballet Film


Classic Movies at Opera House
Fri 6/28/19 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House An American in Paris
Fri 7/12/19 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House Guess Who's Coming to Dinner
Fri 7/26/19 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House Rear Window
Fri 8/9/19 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House Breakfast at Tiffany's
Fri 8/23/19 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House Key Largo
Fri 9/6/19 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House Young Frankenstein


A Taste of Downtown

Now in its sixth year, this established Sarasota tradition will bring you to Sarasota Opera House, where your favorite downtown restaurants will be showcasing their tasty dishes paired with fine wines and assorted beers. Proceeds from this event benefit the Sarasota Youth Opera, who will perform during the event. Come mix & mingle, sample tasty bites, and have a drink with us to celebrate the end of summer in Sarasota!

Tickets: $75 per person


Sat 9/21/19 1:00PM Sarasota Opera House A Taste of Downtown


East Marries West
‘East Marries West’ is a world-renowned collaboration between two musical giants - Pandit Shubhendra Rao on the sitar, and Vidushi Saskia Rao-de Haas on the Indian cello. Tabla accompaniment is provided by Aditya Kalyanpur.

The musical duo has performed in several cities in the US and around the world including UK, France, South Africa, India, and Australia. However, they will be performing in Sarasota for the first time.

Their concert is being promoted by the Sunrise Rotary of Sarasota, to fund several specialized beach wheelchairs for the disabled. In conjunction with the Sarasota County Department of Parks and Recreation, the targeted beaches are Siesta Key, Lido and Nokomis beach.

Video clips can be seen at https://www.youtube.com/watch?list=RDmmnXYT3oM78&v=mmnXYT3oM78

Tickets on sale Monday, May 20.
Fri 10/4/19 7:00PM Sarasota Opera House East Marries West


Understanding Opera

Understand opera like never before with Executive Director Richard Russell and Director of Artistic Administration Greg Trupiano as they present these 4 fun-fact filled talks in the fall. Four Thursdays at 5:pm.

Tickets: $25 per person, $75 for all talks


Thu 10/17/19 5:00PM Kamlet Library Things Change
Thu 10/24/19 5:00PM Kamlet Library Ensembles in Opera
Thu 10/31/19 5:00PM Kamlet Library Walt Whitman at the Opera
Thu 11/7/19 5:00PM Kamlet Library At the Opera, Richard and Greg


Curtain Raiser

Michael's on East Ballroom

Traditionally the start of Sarasota Opera’s social season, this event is where long-time patrons reunite, and new friends are made among fellow opera lovers. The evening will begin with cocktails and hors d'oeuvres in the courtyard, followed by a three-course dinner and an exciting performance by artists from The Barber of Seville.

Tickets: $195 per person


Sun 10/20/19 6:00PM Local Venue Curtain Raiser


Rigoletto

Rigoletto
November 1–17
Opera by Giuseppe Verdi
LOVE IS DANGEROUS

The story of a protective father, a lecherous Duke, and a naive woman who discovers that love isn’t always true, one of Verdi’s greatest works returns to Sarasota Opera.


Fri 11/1/19 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House Rigoletto
Sun 11/3/19 1:30PM Sarasota Opera House Rigoletto
Wed 11/6/19 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House Rigoletto
Tue 11/12/19 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House Rigoletto
Thu 11/14/19 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House Rigoletto
Sun 11/17/19 1:30PM Sarasota Opera House Rigoletto


Opera House Tours

Join us on Mondays during opera season for a tour of the historic Sarasota Opera House, complete with backstage tour. You'll hear some great stories, and discover why the Sarasota Opera house is at the very center of Sarasota's cultural life.


Mon 11/4/19 10:30AM Sarasota Opera House Opera House Tour
Mon 11/11/19 10:30AM Sarasota Opera House Opera House Tour
Mon 2/17/20 10:30AM Sarasota Opera House Opera House Tour
Mon 2/24/20 10:30AM Sarasota Opera House Opera House Tour
Mon 3/2/20 10:30AM Sarasota Opera House Opera House Tour
Mon 3/9/20 10:30AM Sarasota Opera House Opera House Tour
Mon 3/16/20 10:30AM Sarasota Opera House Opera House Tour


Concert at Noon

Enjoy these hour-long concerts featuring Sarasota Opera’s Apprentice and Studio artists singing arias and ensembles.

Tickets: $5


Fri 11/8/19 12:00PM Peterson Great Room Apprentice Concert
Fri 3/6/20 12:00PM Peterson Great Room Apprentice Concert
Fri 3/13/20 12:00PM Peterson Great Room Studio Understudies
Fri 3/20/20 12:00PM Peterson Great Room Apprentice Concert


Brundibar

Brundibár
November 15 & 16
A Youth Opera by Hans Krása with a prologue by Jesse Martins and Martha Collins
LOVE CONQUERS EVIL

Performed dozens of times by the children of Thereseinstadt concentration camp during WWII, this tale of friendship, perseverance, and teamwork will touch your heart.


Fri 11/15/19 7:00PM Sarasota Opera House Brundibar
Sat 11/16/19 7:00PM Sarasota Opera House Brundibar


The Opera Gala

The annual Opera Gala celebrates the beginning of Sarasota Opera’s Winter Festival. The elegant affair will include a cocktail hour, silent auction, four course dinner, a special performance by our Principal Artists, and live music for dancing. Let’s raise a glass of champagne together at the premier social event in Sarasota!

Tickets: $350 per person


Sat 2/1/20 6:30PM Local Venue The Opera Gala


Artists Choice Concert

This Sarasota Opera tradition is back! Hear Principal and Studio artists perform their choice of the best-loved opera arias and songs with piano accompaniment.


Sun 3/15/20 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House Artists Choice Concert


Salute to the Stars

Sarasota Yacht Club

Celebrating the outstanding Sarasota Opera artists who will be honored in 2020, join us for lunch overlooking Sarasota Bay. You will experience a live performance by the award winners, and learn more about our studio and apprentice artist programs.

Tickets: $75 Individual or $125 per Patron Sponsor (includes donation to support the apprentice artist program, premium seating, and recognition in the program)


Thu 3/19/20 11:30AM Local Venue Salute to the Stars


Opera Club
Membership to the The Simonsen & Montminy Opera Club for the 2019-2020 Season begins November 1, 2019 and expires March 22, 2020.

Donors at the Regent Level ($1,250) and higher, please call Brenda Tamm, 941-366-8450, Ext. 250, to take advantage of your membership discount.
Mon 3/23/20 8:00PM Sarasota Opera House Opera Club Membership

by