Apply
Upcoming Performances & Events

Welcome to the 2017-18 Season!. Click on the links below to filter performances and events by category:

Subscribe NOW | Operas & Concerts | HD at the Opera House | Special Events | Talks & Tours | Community Events | All Events


La traviata

Violetta, a famed Parisian courtesan, has lived a life of lavish parties with influential friends. She abandons it all to be with her beloved Alfredo, but when her past threatens his family’s honor, she must forsake her dream of love.

Verdi’s awe-inspiring music combined with a heart-breaking libretto has made La traviata one of the repertoire cornerstones of opera companies around the world.


Fri 11/3/17 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House La traviata
Sun 11/5/17 1:30PM Sarasota Opera House La traviata
Wed 11/8/17 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House La traviata
Tue 11/14/17 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House La traviata
Thu 11/16/17 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House La traviata
Sun 11/19/17 1:30PM Sarasota Opera House La traviata
Tue 11/21/17 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House La traviata


Rootabaga Country

After a nationwide search, we are proud to announce that composer/librettist Rachel J. Peters has been chosen to compose Sarasota Youth Opera’s new commission—Rootabaga Country. Ms. Peters explains that the work has a “sincere message of tolerance and inclusiveness in a cultural climate where the simple act of growing up is more confusing than ever before.”

This adaptation of Carl Sandburg’s 1922 Rootabaga Stories will have its world premiere by Sarasota Youth Opera in November 2017.

Sponsored by the Les and Carol Brualdi Foundation


Sat 11/11/17 5:30PM Sarasota Opera House Rootabaga Country
Sun 11/12/17 12:30PM Sarasota Opera House Rootabaga Country



Fri 3/2/18 12:00PM Sarasota Opera House Concert at Noon
Fri 3/16/18 12:00PM Sarasota Opera House Concert at Noon



Fri 3/9/18 3:00PM Peterson Great Room Covers at Three


Artists Choice Concert

A Sarasota Opera tradition! Principal and studio artists will perform their choice of the best of opera and song, with piano accompaniment.


Sun 3/18/18 7:30PM Sarasota Opera House Artists Choice Concert

by